Audio : namah sūryāya candrāya

This is navagrahanamana.

In this ślōkam, the namah (manah) is for sūrya, candra, mangala, budha, guru, śukra, śani, rāhu and kētu.

They are the kārakas for the Self, Mind, Conflict, Learning, Wisdom, Comfort, Work, Illusion and Freedom, in that order, respectively.

Some Notes.

A graha is any celestial body or point with a gravitational (or other) grip. It derives from gR to grasp or hold.

A chāya graha or a shadowy graha has some effects, often related to it’s location. The two mentioned in this ślōkam are the moon’s nodes, rāhu and kētu. These are described with mathematical accuracy in the surya siddhanta of maya dānava for astronomers, as well as other astrological siddhāntās and vēdānga jyotiša. They are imaginatively described in various purāńas in an encoded format, for lay people. Since the chāya grahas are related to eclipses and alignments, their effects are experienced differently.

Visit the Astrology Page.

The Parent Site : Learn Sanskrit Chants from a Guru

Interactive Practice On Your Own : samskṛtābhyāsam

Travel, Resources, History & Legends : Ancient Indians – Satya Samhita

Telegram Broadcast and Group Chat :

Listen to the FM Channel on Anchor :

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s